Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



   Capt. Peggy Van Vleet 


Captain Of The Year






Board Minutes

Dec. 13th 2009


LECBA Board Meeting

Monday, December 14, 2009The meeting was called to order by President Rick Unger at 6:10 PM at Wild Wings Restaurant.Members present:  Jerry Abele, Steve Connor, Ron Eickholt, Charlie Eulitt, Jeff Goehring, Mike Karhoff, Don Lowther, Chris Moore, Paul Pacholski, Pete Scheid, Barry Witt, Bob Witt, Dan Welsh, Dave Whitt, and Rick UngerGuests present:  Tom Straus, Mel Fenger, Ken Goad, Jason Sarver, Kenny Miller, Jim Reynolds, Ron Lamont, John Tucholski, and Jerry TucholskiMotion made by Pete Scheid to approve November minutes.  Seconded by Jerry Abele.  Passed by the Board.Election results for Board members were tabulated with the following results:            Mel Fenger – 51Mike Matta – 49                                            The top five nominees have been Wanda Morehead – 49                                   elected to a three year term.            John Tucholski – 47            Ron Eickholt – 41                Charlie Eulitt – 46    Eric Gahn – 41    Dan Welsh – 40   Dan Holan – 35     Bob Hayner – 34    Mike Karhoff - 32Charlie Eulitt declined his re-nomination leaving the space open.  Ron Eickholt and Eric Gahn tied for the next position.  Ron Eickholt will be retained as the incumbent.Nominations for Captain of the Year:  Dan Holan, Paul Pacholski, Jerry Meyers Sr., Rick Dunlap, and Bob Brown Jr.Treasurer’s Report:  Detailed report given by Don Lowther.  Motion made by Dave Whitt to approve the report, seconded by Steve Connor.A one time fee of $100-200 will be paid to have Pay Pal set up on the new website.  Using Pay Pal will not automatically charge you each year for membership as in the past.Paul Pacholski is still currently working on many issues (open lake dumping, Bayshore Power Plant, dredging of the Maumee River).  He currently has meetings set up with Senator Voinovich, members of the Great Lakes Commission and the Core of  Engineers.  An article appeared in the Columbus Dispatch on November 30 from Jack Tibbels and his position on the closure of the spring season.Rick Unger and Mike Matta will attend a press conference pertaining to the stopping of Asian carp.President Unger is a member of the Dredging Coalition and reported on the numbers of captains running off the local harbors.The MS Society as well as Roger Knight and/or Ray Petering will be attending the January meeting.Cleveland Boat Show will be held January 15 – 24, 2010.President Unger will be attending the Great Lakes Fisheries meetings March 22 – 26.  The TAC will be announced.There is still no official word on the issue of Canadian Fishing licenses being sold on the US side.  Jeff Goehring has been receiving information regarding the possibility of selling the licenses and the maintenance of the equipment.  An online service should be up and running by 2011.There will be a reception on December 23 at the Governor’s mansion.  President Unger and Bob Witt will be attending.President Unger has received correspondences form Bob Brown, Tony Novak and Erie Eagle Charters about the closing of the spring season.  Rick has contacted them.Ohio Outdoor Journal subscriptions have been renewed for 2010.Ron Lamont shared a letter he received about a lawsuit involving a trap netter.  The hearing is scheduled for some time in February.Thank you to the Board members that will be leaving us.  The new Board members will begin their three year term beginning in January.The next meeting will be held on Monday, January 11, 2010 at 6 PM at Wild Wings Restaurant.Motion made to adjourn at 8:20 by Paul Pacholski.  Seconded by Ron Eickholt.